Personal trainer?

Options
Do you have a personal trainer? If yes ,does it work better then working out on your own?

Replies

• bhurley100
    bhurley100 Posts: 201 Member
    Options
    Followong
  • onehartfit
    onehartfit Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    I’m a personal trainer and find people like to have accountability, even when they know what they’re doing they want someone to push them harder
  • lalabank
    lalabank Posts: 1,009 Member
    Options
    I’m new to working out and enjoy a variety of cardio and strength training classes BUT my personal training sessions are absolutely the best thing I do each week.
    It’s been about 8 weeks of classes and 5 weeks of personal training, this is what I’ve learned:
    -the personal attention I get from my PT teaches me proper form and tweaks my moves so I’m getting the most from every single move and I take all of that into the rest of my workouts throughout the week.
    -I’ve got someone who knows what my fitness level is and encourages me to challenge myself, I can ask her “do you think I can handle this extreme class?” Or “what class or workout should I add in this week?”
    - It feels good to have someone to encourage me and to be proud of the work I’m doing.
    - I have a “friend” at the gym, someone who knows my name and says hi to me. This might seem silly but as a gym newbie having a familiar face feels really good. (8 weeks in and now I have a bunch of gym “friends” but having just one really helped me start)

Everyone’s journey is different but for me, my personal trainer is like my weight loss Gandalf.
  • deannalfisher
    deannalfisher Posts: 5,600 Member
    Options
    i've had both - some personal trainers don't push me like i need to, they just let me coast along - others will push me (which is what I need) - so its finding someone who works with what you need for motivation
  • debrakgoogins
    debrakgoogins Posts: 2,034 Member
    Options