Scale not moving, ideas?

Options
Hey all! I’m new to MFP and so far loving it! I started on the 1st and quickly lost 3+ pounds. I’ve been on vacation all week and on point with my calories, but the scale either hasn’t budged or gone up.

I feel almost constantly hungry. Last night I said screw this feeling and ate a good bit over my calories, and this morning I’ve lost weight.

I have the projections at 2# a week, would dropping it down to 1.5# a week be beneficial?

Any tips appreciated! And friends!

Replies

• leanjogreen18
    leanjogreen18 Posts: 2,492 Member
    Options
    Yes if you’re constantly hungry bump up your calories a bit to lose 1 1/2lb.
  • mxexotics
    mxexotics Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    It hasn’t moved since day two. And I know it’ll take time, I just want to set myself up for success.
  • emmamcgarity
    emmamcgarity Posts: 1,593 Member
    Options
    Weight loss happens over time. What you are seeing in the scale are weight fluctuations. It’s not fat loss. Fluctuations can happen due to water retention from sodium content and make you look like you had a gain. Or you might weigh less immediately after use the bathroom in the morning. Neither of these are fat gain or fat loss. Fat loss takes time as you chip away day by day, meal by meal. Consider weighing just once a week so that you have a better idea if your goals are being met. If you really like to weigh yourself daily look into using Happy Scale or one of the other trending apps.
  • jennifer_417
    jennifer_417 Posts: 12,344 Member
    Options