Calories rocket when recipes copied??

Options
Hi there,
Sorry if i am not doing this in the correct manner, i am new to using the app! I am following Slimming World and find that when i copy recipes for my dinners the calories never match to what i see online.
I am unsure which platform is incorrect whether myfitnesspal add on a few or the websites displaying the recipes are.
Thanks,
Jade

Replies

• deannalfisher
    deannalfisher Posts: 5,600 Member
    Options
    You need to check the food matches that MFP gives you; the calories will also only be consistent if you use exactly the same brand/amount as in the recipe
  • puffbrat
    puffbrat Posts: 2,806 Member
    Options
    To add to the previous poster, some of the entries that the recipe builder pulls are wrong. I cooked a recipe this weekend that I had previously put in the recipe builder a year or more ago. I just went in to adjust amounts. But in doing so, I noticed that the dried oregano entry in the recipe said 1 teaspoon was over 200 calories. That is obviously incorrect, so I had to search for a more accurate entry. This happens a lot with many foods in the recipe builder.
  • jasondjulian
    jasondjulian Posts: 182 Member
    Options
    puffbrat wrote: »
    To add to the previous poster, some of the entries that the recipe builder pulls are wrong. I cooked a recipe this weekend that I had previously put in the recipe builder a year or more ago. I just went in to adjust amounts. But in doing so, I noticed that the dried oregano entry in the recipe said 1 teaspoon was over 200 calories. That is obviously incorrect, so I had to search for a more accurate entry. This happens a lot with many foods in the recipe builder.
    Watch out for the infamous garlic too. Has several hundred calories for one clove!