Squats: can reps substitute for weight?

Options
I do 3x8 heavy squats twice a week. That seems to be the minimum for me to avoid DOMs.

It's going to be very difficult to make it to the gym tonight, and squats are on the schedule for today. Gym might be an issue tomorrow too.

Can I do some crazy number of bodyweight squats tonight and then pick up where I left off on Friday? Only goal here is to avoid DOMs.

Replies

• lin_be
    lin_be Posts: 393 Member
    Options
    I am not an expert here but I don’t think bw reps can really sub for heavy weight. You could do other lifts that do the same action as squatting but that are bit more challenging: walking lunges with heavy books, step ups using something heavy in your house, split squats, single leg squats. If you have resistance bands you could use those to mimic some weight while doing a normal squat as well!
  • GiddyupTim
    GiddyupTim Posts: 2,819 Member
    edited January 2019
    Options
    This is an interesting question, which is why I am bumping it.
    I am going to guess that taking four-five days days off at the gym, or even six, isn't going to make you much more susceptible to soreness than your regular routine -- which is every third day?
    I am thinking that is what I recall from my own training, but I am not entirely sure.
    What if you eased back into it, taking some pounds off the bar when you go back?
    Anyway, it is true that you can build muscle with high reps of lighter weight, so maybe the air squats couldn't hurt?
  • BZAH10
    BZAH10 Posts: 5,709 Member
    Options
    I'd try to find heavy things you have at home that can sub as weights. Bodyweight / air squats as a 2nd option.
  • lorrpb
    lorrpb Posts: 11,464 Member
    Options
    Maybe consider jumps squats.
  • tcunbeliever
    tcunbeliever Posts: 8,219 Member
    Options
    You want to try to match the amount of work.

normal routine:
    3 x 8 x body weight x added weight = work

new routine: