What Habits have you changed to help you lose weight.

Options
tmoneyag99
tmoneyag99 Posts: 480 Member
edited February 2019 in Health and Weight Loss
So I have been fighting my post pregnancy weight for about 2 years now. Right now, I'm feeling pretty confident in my process. I'm not really counting calories at the moment all though my diet is likely on the lower carb side of things due to the fact that when I do cut out starches I find my hunger is easier to manage. I've lost 15lbs so far which is only a fraction of what I want to lose.

But I'm focusing on habits. I'm not counting calories (yet), I'm not looking at macros. I'm just focusing on habits that will be sustainable (in my opinion) for life.

Habits in order of priority:
1) Getting plenty of sleep. I have found that I crave less healthy foods when I am tired and stressed. Getting plenty of sleep actually helps me execute all my new habits (see below) Not getting enough sleep is almost like the tip of the first domino when I err in my weight loss journey. Im cranky, unable to focus, and undisciplined.

2) A added sweeteners from spenda to honey. This has actually proven to be pretty awesome. I find that fruit that I once found tart to actually be sweet to me. Even Green Apples. As a result I am finding that fruit satisfies my sweet tooth. I'm actually starting to enjoy tomatoes and their natural sweetness because the expectations for sweetness are way lowered. I'm also drinking more water because I am not craving diet coke as often (except under times of stress and fatigue)

3) 1:1:0.1 So while I'm not COUNTING carbs and calories I am ensuring that everything I eat has this combination:
1Part Protien/1 Part non-starchy plant (Fruit or vegetable)/smidge part fat.

For example I may eat 6oz of grilled chicken but I have equal that in weight in non-starchy vegetables. There may be a
little butter on the veg's if the meat is lean. But generally speaking the weights are the same. This makes decision