Intense irritability after exercising

Options
2»

Replies

• jlgmfp
    jlgmfp Posts: 33 Member
    Options
    I read you were in maintenance, but did you up your cals for the running, and up them again for the cycling?

Maintenance and upping cals can sometimes be a fine line.
    I thought I was maintaining for the first month or so when I started lifting, but I wasn’t. My mood was off, my daily activity was subtly dropping, and so was my weight (less than 1lbs a month).

Adding 200 cal on lifting days then, after a few months just upping my cals by the 200 kept me in maintenance but with a much better outlook mentally and physically.

Since it has only been 2 or so months, make sure you are getting enough rest and sleep. Maybe alternate days cycling and running.

Cheers, h.

I’m not actually trying to maintain, my aim is to lose really but I haven’t been tracking properly, I’ve just sort of been eating but trying not to go too overboard. I’m maintaining based on the fact that my weight staying stable.

Maybe properly committing to logging would help me figure things out and make sure that I’m consistently eating enough. I’d imagine that swinging between eating less and eating more isn’t helpful for my mood. Thanks.
  • RunnerGrl1982
    RunnerGrl1982 Posts: 412 Member
    Options
    jlgmfp wrote: »
    How long have you added running to your workout schedule? I know you mentioned running a couple of times per week, but I'm thinking dependent on how hard your runs are and whether you just picked it up recently, it's possible you are over-training and your irritability could stem from that...potentially.

But, take my inquiry with a grain salt.

I’ve started running maybe a couple of months ago, and started cycling about a month and a bit ago. So maybe it could be a case of doing too much too soon. How long does it usually take to adjust to a new consistent workout routine? (I know that’s probably a hard question to answer)