3 months on crutches. All my work down the drain?

Options
I started cycling 6ish months ago and have gained a bit of the shizzle that goes with that, however I am going to have some surgery on my left foot to correct some damage from an asccident many years ago. They tell me I will be on crutches for 3 MONTHS. How do I keep up my fitness and not lose my leg strength for 3 MONTHS. It's a long time. I'm scared I'ma get fat again.

Replies

• springlering62
    springlering62 Posts: 7,426 Member
    Options
    There are bench and band excercises you can do while seated. Sorry, I’m new to weight training, so I don’t know the names, but I think it’s something like curls, flyaways, and other moves, things you can do seated on the end of a bench, or laying on your back on one. We do similar moves in Pilates, seated on a yoga block that is placed on one of those rubber therapy bands. Some health facilities offer chair yoga. A gym with machines will have a lot with upper body workouts. Could you do a recumbent stationary bike?

And please don’t laugh at this, but years ago, I was ill with something that gave me severely swollen joints, but had small kids who still had to be cared for. Umpteen times a day, I had to crawl up stairs on hand and knees, and slide down them on my butt. It looked ridiculous but in retrospect, it was a workout, and I’d do that if push came to shove.

I’ve been giving all this a bit of thought myself because I thought I’d fractured my ankle, but doctors visit yesterday showed it to be a stupid collapsed arch. Sheesh...no idea flat feet could be that painful. Like you, I wanted a backup plan. I’m easing off yoga and long walks til it heals up, but I’m still planning to do the weight training and Pilates, since neither is that foot intensive for me.
  • jls1leather9497
    jls1leather9497 Posts: 90 Member
    Options
    GOOD NEWS
    There really is a 'muscle memory' ... it comes back easier than it took to build from scratch.