New to pescatarian diet

Options
I'm very new to the pescatarian diet, so would like some tips on what food to avoid and what to try and different recipes that can be made on a budget

Replies

• zeejane03
    zeejane03 Posts: 993 Member
    edited March 2019
    Options
    I eat a mostly pescetarian diet. Things to avoid are non-fish kinds of meat. No chicken, beef, pork, lamb etc.

I get most of my fish and shrimp at Aldi, don't know if you have one nearby but their seafood prices are really good (4 servings of salmon for $4 etc).

I don't do a lot with recipes-salmon, whitefish etc I just bake with spices. I use pre-cooked/shelled shrimp in salads, in rice and veggie bowls or by itself with cocktail sauce.
  • snowflake954
    snowflake954 Posts: 8,399 Member
    edited March 2019
    Options
    A pescatarian diet is fish based excluding meat from other animals. Google fish recipes. Buying frozen fish is more economical. Fresh fish tastes wonderful, but it takes experience to judge it's freshness. My husband is pescatarian and I've been cooking for him for 33yrs--a little experience there.
  • zeejane03
    zeejane03 Posts: 993 Member
    Options
    A pescatarian diet is fish based excluding meat from other animals. Google fish recipes. Buying frozen fish is more economical. Fresh fish tastes wonderful, but it takes experience to judge it's freshness. My husband is pescatarian and I've been cooking for him for 33yrs--a little experience there.

Yeah, I get all my fish frozen, way cheaper that way!
  • wilson10102018
    wilson10102018 Posts: 1,306 Member
    Options
    Fresh trout here is $10.95 per pound skin on. Filets are typically 6oz, the perfect size.
  • lemurcat2
    lemurcat2 Posts: 7,885 Member
    Options
    Isn't that just eating fish as your only meat?