Low resting heart rate

Options
Hi all - I've been losing for close to 2 years now with my goal weight in sight. I've really picked up my exercise lately to help make the final push (have about 10 pounds to go). I've noticed in the past, my heart rate will go from resting BPM of around 65-70 to around 58 or so when I've been consistent with my workouts. I've been pushing hard lately, working out 2 times a day some days (really trying to decrease my running pace, though never more than like 60 minutes a day, sometimes just split up between a morning and evening workout). My resting heart rate is now around 54. I emailed my doctor just to be safe and she said she thought it was fine and just due to working out a lot. I feel fine and my heart race increases appropriately with exercise. Has anyone else noticed a big decrease when their workouts have picked up?

Replies

• apullum
    apullum Posts: 4,838 Member
    Options
    That wouldn’t be an unusual RHR for many active people. I’m a runner and mine is usually around 45-55. If your doctor isn’t worried, then it’s likely fine.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,876 Member
    Options
    It's normal...that's why most athletes have a lower than average RHR
  • lporter229
    lporter229 Posts: 4,907 Member
    Options
    Your resting heart rate will decrease as you become more fit. It's not uncommon for athletes to have RHRs in the 30s. It's a good thing to track because if you notice it begin to spike (trend consistently higher, not just one or two days), it's a good indication that your are over training and could use a rest. Keep up the great work!
  • AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 32,102 Member
    Options
    It's an absolutely standard effect, and one sign that your cardiovascular training efforts are working. Your heart is stronger, so it works less to get the same result - same effect you see in other parts of your body.