Interval Running

Options
Hi all,
I have completed the C25K (yay) and now want to improve my running speed. What intervals would you suggest to do at that kind of distance, and if I were to do one long run a week, how far should I go? I am a pretty slow runner....I figure my current 5K time is about 37 minutes.
Thanks!

Replies

• bloodstar
    bloodstar Posts: 29 Member
    Options
    Caveat: IANAFE (I Am Not A Fitness Expert)

To start with, congrats on completing the C25K!

Well, let's start simple, what's the furthest you've run in one sitting?

The second is what would be your first goal in a 5K?

Typically there are three major elements of any running program, Endurance, Stamina, and Speed

For this example, I'll use a goal speed of around 30 minutes for the 5K as a starting point.

I'd suggest working yourself up to being able to run about 5 miles or so at a slow steady pace. Being able to run further will help build your overall fitness and give your body the ability to handle shorter distances faster. If your comfortable, you can move past 5 miles, but I'd suggest being able to run 5 miles before starting any sort of interval training.

If you can run 5 miles, then you could try something like the following
    1/2 mile to 1 mile jog warm up, stretch.
    1 mile run in 9 minutes (technically I know a 30 minute 5k is a little over a 9 minute pace, but I did say *around* 30).
    slow jog and/or walk a mile (depending on how you feel, figure out how much jogging and walking you want to do)
    1 mile run in 9 minutes again
    1/2 mile to 1 mile cool down jog/walk.

The idea is to condition your body to the pace you want to run.