Kicking myself

Options
I was a member here years ago. I lost weight, learned about lifting weights, made some friends and was very happy with my progress. Life just got in the way I guess, and I let things slide when I shouldn’t have. I moved across the country, from Florida to Wisconsin, and quit smoking recently l. Unfortunately, I also gained over 20 lbs and I’m no longer fit. So, I’m kind of kicking myself for being right back where I was when I started all those years ago.

I started lifting again this week, and tracking my food. I’m hoping to meet some friends so we can help motivate and support each other.

Replies

• Megan_smartiepants1970
    Megan_smartiepants1970 Posts: 39,348 Member
    Options
    I have been on and off of here since 09...I have given up and deleted to many MFP accounts that I have lost count ....I am tired of being a damn yo-yo....I have also quit smoking...I had my last cig Jan. 2 due to a health scare that landed me in the hospital for 9 days ....congrats on quitting ....WE GOT THIS...feel free to add me :)
  • Johnk942
    Johnk942 Posts: 109 Member
    Options
    You sound really smart to me! You are beginning again. Welcome back. (I too, have roots in Wisconsin.)
  • goosefraba123
    goosefraba123 Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    We all do it learning always spirals back around to the same point with a better understanding than previously at that point. Speaking from experience I can relate.
  • carriepatnode80
    carriepatnode80 Posts: 8 Member
    Options
    Is weight lifting the way to go? Compared to the elliptical? I never got into weight lifting that much but maybe I should.
  • staticsplit
    staticsplit Posts: 538 Member
    Options
    Is weight lifting the way to go? Compared to the elliptical? I never got into weight lifting that much but maybe I should.