Healthy snacks?

Options
hsh0927
hsh0927 Posts: 259 Member
Here's the dealio: I'm a full time student. Monday and Wednesday I'm in classes from 8am to 4:50ish. It's 3 classes with a break inbetween them. The break isn't long enough to were it would be useful to drive all the way home to get something to eat. It'd just be a waste of gas. For now Tuesday and Thursday is 8-9:50 & 12-1:50 but at the end of September I start clinicals ("working" in hospitals) that will be from 7:30am-4pm.

I'd love tons ideas for snacks (and a few lunches) that I can easily take with me AND will fill me up. I'm tired of spending $1.50 on a bag of snack mix from the vending machine and still being hungry when I'm done with it. I don't want to take veggies because I do not have a way to keep them cool. I tend to get tired of things rather quickly though so I'd love as many ideas as you guys can give me!

The school offers some healthy options but not many. The only real healthy thing they have is a salad bar that sits out all day and has I don't know how many people pawing through it.

Thanks (=

Replies

• EuroDriver
    EuroDriver Posts: 254
    Options
    i bring almonds, protein bars and cans of tuna with me as snacks... all high in proteins... but deff interested hearing in some more tips people have... stuff that doesnt need to be in the fridge or be cooked...

oh just read that you wanted full lunch ideas too... if you have a fridge at work then bring cottage cheese and chicken breast..
  • lmaharj
    lmaharj Posts: 82 Member
    Options
    I prefer protein packs. If you bring a bottle of water and throw the powder in, it makes for a pretty filling snack.
  • Chunkabutt83
    Options
    whole fruits would be good or of course nuts, pretzels and granola bars
  • crazynay96
    Options
    10 or 5 calorie sugar free jello pack
    banana
    kellogs special k cracker chips (I love the sour cream and onion and 1 serving is 27 chips!!)