Orthognathic Surgery Recovery: Dealing with the aftermath

Options
gottswald
gottswald Posts: 122 Member
edited June 2019 in Health and Weight Loss
I am curious to hear from anyone who has had major orthognathic surgery and how that affected their nutrition and health. I had a LeFort I, 2 pieces w/o graft and a Mandibular BSSO w/ fixation a little over a year ago and I’m still adjusting to the result.

In the beginning it was obviously a progression from blended to soft foods. By 6mo I was ‘fully recovered’ according to my surgeon, I’m at about 14mo out now. I’m far past when I should have been eating anything I want and yet still I am struggling with some foods. A raw green bean was too much to bite through this weekend, forget carrots or nuts. I need to rebuild my jaw muscles? I’m still learning to chew. It never registered in my head until after the surgery that I didn't even know how to chew properly. My dentist says I have ‘significant bone loss’, but that it will come back with time and nutrition.

I see a lot of posts from other people who deal with the other issues I face, but not with mechanical deficiencies in chewing and how that affects diet choices. I’m working with an RDN to restore my eating and lay the foundation for rebuilding my life and diet. Everything is slowly getting better, except possibly the nerves in my face. But I still struggle with some foods and I am not sure what I do to rebuild that ability. I know it isn’t that rare but I’ve never heard someone else’s experience other than through surgeons.

Replies

• jgnatca
    jgnatca Posts: 14,464 Member
    Options
    Different surgery (gastric bypass) but I also have foods I have more trouble with. I’m a very determined person and if it takes three hours to get through it, I’ll do it.

If the blender becomes your new friend, so be it.
  • gottswald
    Options