Hunger after consuming daily calorie quota

Options
Hello there.

I've been using MFP on and off for a couple of years but never really felt I had achieved the goal I'm looking for. I'm fairly sure this is down to diet management as I'm in an active profession and supplement this with regular cycling, swimming and running. My problem is that in the past I have seen notable reductions in body fat around my arms and legs (actually never have had an oz of fat on legs) but around my pecs and middle, the residual fat simply will not budge. I tried HIIT training for 5 months and saw a little improvement but nothing particularly drastic. As a 45 year male I'm desperate not to hit a slow decline into middle-aged spread but I have two recurring hurdles that I just can't seem to beat. Apologies if this is falling into the category of typical newbie posts. The hurdles are:

i. regularly have a significant hunger despite consuming allowed calorie intake (according to MFP which currently is set at 1900 per day) - this often manifests as a craving for something stodgy/carbs.

ii. despite best efforts, nothing seems to move the fat that is around my middle.

As I'm moving a lot through daily routine and exercise, I can only think that it's my diet that is the problem. I eat clean, go easy on the alcohol and hardly ever eat junk food. So despite these things, the fat remains. I'm not looking for a six pack (although one would be nice) but any suggestions or ideas as to how you have shed stubborn midriff fat would be wonderful to hear. Also, if you've reached your calorie limited do you simply ignore the hunger (drink water etc) or is the hunger a signal you're perhaps not eating as much as you should?

Thank you in advance.

D

Replies

• L1zardQueen
    L1zardQueen Posts: 8,754 Member
    Options
    How accurate is your calorie counting? Do you use a food scale? Do you pick the right entries from the database?
  • FibroHiker
    FibroHiker Posts: 344 Member
    Options