Suggestion for exercise

Hello everyone last year I lost 27lbs with diet and a little exercise . I was doing home videos, mainly full body HIIT exercises. I drooped exercise as I have always felt miserable doing it and I was sometimes in pain.
Since then of course I deflated in the important parts. Also and most importantly, I am a nail tech so I sit most of the day, I tend to walk during the weekends and some afternoons. But I have a knee injury now with fluid in the knee that affects both legs, so sometimes I need to push my leg in order to straighten my leg if I sit too much.
What exercise do you suggest for building some muscle while protecting the legs? Is cardio like a treadmill okay? Is strength training with weights a good idea? Or pilates?hank you community

Replies

• AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 31,935 Member
    Any exercise - actually any extra movement - that you can tolerate will be helpful.

If you have access to a pool, water exercise, even just walking in the water, may be helpful if your knees will allow it. In some places, there are special water exercise classes for people with arthritis that might be suitable for you.

If you are able to walk, you might be able to consider something like Tai Chi or Yoga. Sometimes there are rehabilitative versions of these classes, too.

There are chair exercises on YouTube, some of which are quite vigorous, if your goal is calorie expenditure.

For strength, weight training (or bodyweight exercises at the start) are the most efficient method. There is a thread on here with discussion of good programs:

http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10332083/which-lifting-program-is-the-best-for-you/p1

It's always fine to start more slowly (lighter weight, fewer reps/sets) than a program recommends, and work your way up gradually, if that keeps things more manageable. Slow progress is more effective than injuries, frustration, and restarts.