Need help!

Options
I am brand new to the app and I really need help staying motivated to lose weight. I go through bouts of getting motivated but they only last about two weeks. It's discouraging and frustrating. I have to lose weight. My knees are in horrible shape and I'm worried about my health. I also want to be able to enjoy outdoor activities. Any help or encouragement is welcome.

Replies

• j9izzypoo
    j9izzypoo Posts: 6 Member
    Options
    It’s all a mindset. You have to really focus on your goal and the person you want to be. It’s about a change of lifestyle and making better choices. It can’t just be change for a few days or weeks. It has to be about a lifestyle choice that is long term. Put your mind to it and stay focused. If you have a bad day and eat something that threw you over the edge then the next day decrease your calories to even things out.

Again it’s all in your mind. Gain power over you and be the best you possible.
  • jenncornelsen
    jenncornelsen Posts: 969 Member
    Options
    Agree with above. No one can motivate you to do this but you. Everyday wake up and remind yourself why your here. Listen to motivational podcasts, read books about it. Post notes about it. Do whatever you need to. The beginning is hard. All the best I just take it one day at a time
  • nighthawk584
    nighthawk584 Posts: 1,992 Member
    edited September 2019
    Options
    I'm afraid you are on your own for motivation but maybe some of the success stories on here can inspire you? You have to get it in your mind, I CAN DO THIS and just do it! I've lost 70 plus lbs since April and am 54 years old. I was miserable and in a health crises condition. IF I can do it, most anyone can.
  • kimny72
    kimny72 Posts: 16,013 Member
    edited September 2019
    Options
    Focus on building healthy habits, picking a plan that's easy for you in the first place, and making changes gradually. Nobody stays motivated, that's not how real life works :smile: