Weight training....Sets throughout the day vs in one session

For twenty years I have been a high school teacher, and one of the perks was I had access to a full weight room. I could easily slip in there during my prep period, or even at lunch and get a good workout in. I loved hanging out with students, and it was an easy routine to incorporate into my daily life.
I took the step up to admin recently and I can't really do a full workout at school anymore. Many reasons for this, mostly due to having to be available in the office in the event of a visitor, emergency etc.

ANYWAY.....
What I have been able to do is squeeze in a set nearly every time I walk by. Started with pull-ups, I would walk into the weight room 5-10 times a day, and do as many pull-ups I could do each time. One set and I was done. I would return sometime within an hour or so and repeat. I have done the same with chest day, shoulder day etc. It is kind of weird but I find this more enjoyable than my old routine and seem to be progressing just as well from it.
I can't seem to find much written about this. Common sense tells me I am not fatiguing my muscles in the same way, and perhaps and not gaining as much as I would have by doing my sets all at once (as I had for 20 years) but my progress indicates otherwise. I actually seem to be making strength gains (which is pretty impressive at my age!) I do still hit the gym for a full hour or so from time to time (once or twice a week)

Anyone else spread your weight training out in a similar way? thoughts?

Replies

• SnifterPug
    SnifterPug Posts: 746 Member
    Total rookie here, but my thought is that if you are doing every single set to failure with fully fresh muscles each time you are probably working your muscles harder than if you were doing a full hour work out, where you would be unable to work a tired muscle that hard.
  • jhanleybrown
    jhanleybrown Posts: 240 Member