Afternoon Snack Suggestions?

Options
hadley0910
hadley0910 Posts: 91 Member
I am looking for quick, easy ideas for an afternoon snack. I am an elementary teacher and it has a bit of an impact on my eating schedule. I typically have breakfast around 6ish and take my kiddos to lunch at 10:50 am... By the time I get home around 4:30 I am starving. I tried taking an apple or ceral bar and eating that when the kids have snack but those didn't seem to be the best choices... Any recommendations? Oh, and by the way, during the time that they have snack I do not have access to a fridge.

Replies

• ambermichon
    ambermichon Posts: 404 Member
    Options
    protein bars if your calories allow it? I found an almond bar I like as well.
  • gsenriquez
    gsenriquez Posts: 181 Member
    Options
    If you have any container that can hold cold drinks for a few hours...I drink almond milk w/ chocolate whey protein. Or sometimes, Atkins bar.
  • MrsZMartin
    MrsZMartin Posts: 165 Member
    Options
    I used to keep a bag of almonds in my desk at school. Now, I keep Emerald 100 cal almond/walnut packs which helps me with portion control (also a teacher). :)
  • clarebrad
    clarebrad Posts: 188 Member
    Options
    Nuts are great, almonds can be good if get a sweet craving. carrot sticks, celery, gluten free ricecrakers
  • mrogers52
    mrogers52 Posts: 378 Member
    Options
    I eat an ounce of almonds and drink water. Sometimes I am just thirsty!
  • quitmakingexcuses
    quitmakingexcuses Posts: 906 Member
    Options
    High protein! Nuts, nut butter, protein bar ( I like the Pure Protein variety, most are 200 cals with 20g protein). And drinking water with it will keep you full :)
  • rhiannonchallans
    Options
    Homemade popcorn - that way you can have it without butter/salt or at least control the amount, making it less calories.