Anyone else tried Noom?

WobblyPickle
WobblyPickle Posts: 16 Member
Hi! I’ve been using MFP on and off for about 7 years - mainly for food logging /finding out calories. I was recently tempted to try Noom but haven’t been impressed - wondered if anyone else had tried it?

Replies

• WobblyPickle
    Lietchi wrote: »
    Noom started me on my weightloss journey: I wasn't even trying to lose weight, when I saw an ad on facebook. I tried the app (cheap trial), found the introductory days quite interesting (aspects of motivation and goal setting beyond the numbers, concept of calorie dense and less calorie dense food,...) but the individual coaching aspect wasn't what I was looking for (or willing to pay for). And the tracking aspect wasn't very developed, if I remember correctly. I ended the trial, looked for a replacement and that's how I ended up here on MFP!

For MFP regulars, I'm not sure Noom has much added value.

Thanks Lietchi - that’s similar to how I tried it. Saw ad repeatedly on Instagram. On the plus side for me were:
    - early on, helpful and interesting daily content on eating motivation and behaviour
    - Colour coding of food types to help focus on healthier eating
    On the negative side:
    - food library of foods poor, bar coding library very low, seems very USA-centric so ball ache to add food (MFP miles & miles better)
    - Content is relentless and gets repetitive - starts to feel like a burden to keep up
    - Worse feature is the threads of messages - just doesn’t work well/clunky technology.
    - You’re put in a group to enable closer support BUT there are 50+ in your group so no benefit.
    - coaches - pointless feature as adds no value.
    - Cost - after cheap trial, I think this was £30 per month!!!

In summary - years behind MFP in my opinion but with great marketing!
  • javaking9
    javaking9 Posts: 12 Member