Starting to think I won't ever reach goal weight

Options
Zouthx
Zouthx Posts: 15 Member
edited December 2019 in Motivation and Support
Does anyone else struggle with losing and gaining the same 30-50 pounds? It's like I get on a good stride and lose the weight thinking this will finally be it and I'll lose the 100+ pounds I need to lose and then BAM, life gets in the way and I track my food less, pay attention to calories less and focus less on working out. Then I gain all that weight back after a few months until I get another wake up call and start all over again.

I have been using this app on and off for 7 years. I'm starting to get back into tracking calories and setting goals but I'm also asking myself what am I going to do to break this cycle? So I'm asking you all, has anyone here broken the cycle and how did you do it?

Replies

• tcunbeliever
    tcunbeliever Posts: 8,219 Member
    Options
    I try not to think of it as on or off...I log my food even when I'm trying to maintain weight...it's not about being on a diet or off a diet, for me it's about being healthy so that I can live another 6 decades and have fun!
  • Ziggyiguana82
    Ziggyiguana82 Posts: 29 Member
    Options
    @Zouthx I completely understand, been there, done that - several times. I am water fasting with a coffee thrown in here and there simply because I can't trust myself around food.
  • Duck_Puddle
    Duck_Puddle Posts: 3,224 Member
    Options
    I don’t have an “off”. I have periods of time when making good choices and/or working out haven’t been my top priority.

But I always log. I am always here.

And even on the days/weeks/months that I can’t make good choices, I usually (but not always) try to make the best choice possible-even if it’s not a good one, maybe just the least bad.

But even if I don’t try-I still log. I’m still here. I’m never “off”. I just have times where I eat more calories than I need. And times I don’t.
  • elisa123gal