Struggling to understand Calorie Adjustments with new tracker - math seems wrong

Options
Hi all,

I've been using MFP on and off for several years - it's been great at helping me keep track of what I'm eating. I've just picked myself up a Samsung Watch Active 2 which had been great, but I just noticed yesterday it's adjusted my calories in a weird way.

I went for a run this morning before work which the watch tracked as burning 342 calories. The watch is telling me I burnt 2166 calories today overall, and is estimating 2644 by the end of the day. I've eaten 1388 calories but somehow MFP is now telling me that my calorie adjustment works out to -822 calories, and now I am 122 calories OVER my goal for the day. However, if I look at the app, the discrepancy is no where near that:

https://imgur.com/a/o5Wbw2Y

If MFP estimates I'd burn 2533 calories throughout the day and Samsung is saying 2644, I would have thought I could have consumed an extra 122 calories based on those numbers?

If anyone had any thoughts I'd love to hear them. Thanks!

Replies

• PAV8888
    PAV8888 Posts: 13,867 Member
    Options
    integrations seems to work... mostly for Fitbit.

Apple watch reverse burns
    Samsung... you're I think the second or third person mentioning reverse burns.

For Apple @heybales figured out that if you synchronize via Pacer app things are as MFP expects them (TBH, the assumption there is that PACER and APPLE and MFP all use the same base formulas which I am not 100% sure; but close enough for horseshoes and hand grenades).

I would suggest that synchronizing via Pacer for your Samsung MAY achieve the same thing.

Or complain to MFP and samsung for them to fix integration... :wink:
  • andeke07
    andeke07 Posts: 6 Member
    Options