Tennis elbow - can’t lift - how to not lose my progress

Options
I’ve had tennis elbow since May. Played through it for too long and then finally got a cortisone shot that didn’t help at all. I started lifting weights 6 weeks ago and stopped playing Pickleball (the source of the injury) 2 weeks ago in the hopes that strengthening all the supporting muscles would help it heal. But I can feel it getting overworked. Maybe I need to give up lifting also? Any recommendations for exercise that I can do in the meantime so I don’t lose the progress of the last 6 weeks? Just cardio?

Replies

• TRIHARD36
    TRIHARD36 Posts: 79 Member
    Options
    Swimming and spinning
  • lorrpb
    lorrpb Posts: 11,464 Member
    Options
    Sorry for your injury. It sounds like you’re self-diagnosing and self-treating. Have you worked with a physical therapist? They could give you the specific exercises needed for your situation.
  • cs4156
    cs4156 Posts: 27 Member
    Options
    I lifted through mine, had the doc work on it weekly. Still took almost a year to go away...I loss some strength in my right but am getting it back slowly. I just couldnt stop.
  • sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,811 Member
    Options
    Can't lift or painful when lifting? Not the same thing!

As my current (for different injuries) hospital rehab Physio says "pain is just a feeling" - not all pain indicates you are damaging yourself.

My previous Physio advised I could either give my elbow prolonged rest, which might or might not fix it but I'd definitely lose strength or keep lifting and it might or might not get better but I'd keep my strength.

Carried on lifting but found elbow straps helpful as it takes some pressure off the tendon attachment point.
    I also seemed very sensitive to hand position (neutral grip better) and grip (more hooked the better).

Eventually it got better but took many, many months. Suggest you consult with a Physio.
  • errollmaclean
    errollmaclean Posts: 562 Member