Runners Knee

Options
Could you share any personal stories to make me feel better that I will be back to running soon? So I am a newbie to running and after like almost 2 weeks of running 6days out of 7 my right knee started hurting. How long will this last and do I have to keep resting and will this get better soon? I’m eager to get back to running. This is the second day of rest and feels somewhat better but still aches. Thanks and Blessings to you all

Replies

• MattHilburn
    MattHilburn Posts: 17 Member
    Options
    Things I have done.
    Buy a compression sleeve helped some what
    Ice knees after ever run
    Lay on the floor with legs up in the air against a wall.
    Buy GOODrunning shoes
    Run every other day.

Everyone is different have to find what your body responds to.
  • BrianSharpe
    BrianSharpe Posts: 9,249 Member
    Options
    mada2u1984 wrote: »
    Could you share any personal stories to make me feel better that I will be back to running soon? So I am a newbie to running and after like almost 2 weeks of running 6days out of 7 my right knee started hurting. How long will this last and do I have to keep resting and will this get better soon? I’m eager to get back to running. This is the second day of rest and feels somewhat better but still aches. Thanks and Blessings to you all

Too much, too soon and probably too fast. Something I think every runner is guilty of at some point (we're often victims of our own enthusiasm).

When new to running you should not, generally, speaking, be running on consecutive days. There are a lot of physiological adaptations going on and recovery days are part of the process (you can still exercise on recovery days, just go for something low impact and reduced intensity).

Hard to say how long you should rest at this point, play it by ear and when you start back go slow & short to make sure that you don't re-injure yourself.

Good luck!

• Jthanmyfitnesspal
    Jthanmyfitnesspal Posts: 3,521 Member