6'3, 270 lb M shooting for 220lb.

Options
Looking for any guys out there who started size as me, and managed to reach their goal. How did you do it? Did you lose muscle?

Replies

• miekespruit
    miekespruit Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    I am female 269 lb , 6,3 ... goal is 220 lb .... :)
    Been strength training and now adding more cardio in since I finally got more time to do that!
  • Onedaywriter
    Onedaywriter Posts: 326 Member
    Options
    Hi.
    I’m about 6’2.5” and started my journey at 308 lbs. I’m now 59 years old; started about 22 months ago and down to 203 lbs and holding below 205 for like six months. I lost about 60 lbs in my first eight months and then it went slower.
    My goal was 195 and I reached it for a short time but I am more focused on workout type goals now than weight. So I’ve been gaining weight slightly but getting stronger for a few months.

It worked for me this time because I viewed this as a lifestyle change- not a diet and not a short term weight goal. In the past I had done crazy stuff- went to the gym 100 days in a row to lose forty pounds, only to gain it back again etc.

This time- I started out by exercising- joined a gym program (I do CrossFit but any regular workouts that you like should help). Then I started to feel better and also I realized how hard you have to work to burn the calories in just a cookie! So I started to eat cleaner- less in general and better stuff. I didn’t log food until I was well on my way. It helps a lot. I lost weight quickly but in fits and spurts like everyone here says.

Did I lose muscle mass? yes! But wayyyyy more fat. My guess is that I lost about 25%muscle and 75%fat during the process. So roughly 25-30 lbs of muscle mass. Remember- just carrying weight increases muscle mass especially in your lower body where your big muscles live.