New to running and developed knee pain

Options
I'm new to running. I really enjoy it though. I started C25K a little over a week ago. I got new running sneakers that were so comfortable and I was amazed at how good my feet felt after running. But my left knee has started to really hurt out of the blue. It's the area right under my knee and I can barely bend it. It especially hurts to walk up stairs.

Is this all part of getting my body used to running? I've been resting and it's been 3 days and still sore so I haven't done any cardio because I don't want to do further damage/injury. I'm seeing the personal trainer tomorrow for some guidance and a game plan going forward (weight training perhaps). Just wondering if any of you went thru this when you first started to run and was it something I did wrong or just my body getting used to something it's never done before......

Thanks!!!

Replies

• fbmandy55
    fbmandy55 Posts: 5,263 Member
    Options
    Bump. I have the same issue, except my knees, hips and ankles all hurt :sad: I want to run!
  • Cmccracken1
    Cmccracken1 Posts: 326 Member
    Options
    It depends on what kind of pain it it. if its a sharp knife like pain no that is not normal. if is a soreness or muscle pain and goes away with ibuprophen i'd say it's just getting used to it. i am by no means a dr and if you have concerns it's always best to see your dr before starting a new workout regimen.
  • ilookthetype
    ilookthetype Posts: 3,021 Member
    Options
    Seeing a trainer and/or a doc should be top of your list, so good job with that. I've noticed that my knees hurt like the ****ens (aka a lot - happy now MFP?) when I run on a treadmill, my whole body just kills after about 10 min, when I run outside, I can go an hour with no pain. It might be the surface, it might be your speed, maybe you just need a knee brace, get checked out and start pounding pavement again (as soon as you're given permission!)

I love C25k, such a great program.