Where are my bodyweight/calisthenics beginners?

yirara
yirara Posts: 9,389 Member
I started training bodyweight on Monday and it was not very successful in the sense that I've not done anything like this in ages and most things looked rather sad, and I'm still experimenting with suitable equipment/work arounds. I'm following the Reddit Recommended Routine mostly.

Did another round yesterday, which went much better. Proud to have a 30 second dip bar hold and 30 second planks. I also improved on ab wheel use by anchoring my lower legs underneath the sofa. Previously I'd somehow managed to get sore muscles just underneath the sternum due to lack of strength. Ouch! No such problem this time.

Anyone else doing something similar and want to write along?

Replies

• swirlybee
    swirlybee Posts: 497 Member
    Not sure if it counts or if I would be considered a beginner but I do some bodyweight workout as part of my normal workout routine and part of judo. Since judo gyms are closed right now, what I'm doing to keep up with judo is more bodyweight conditioning type stuff - cartwheels, roundoffs, wall walks, handstands, etc. I still need the wall to do a handstand but I injured my shoulder last year and so I'm still building my strength (and shoulder mobility) back up.
  • yirara
    yes, totally! I guess everyone is welcome here. Lets see if some more people do show up.
  • DancingMoosie
    DancingMoosie Posts: 8,613 Member
    https://youtu.be/i5LmxXz_HII
    Something like this? I've been doing her workouts for almost 2 months. She has some yoga/pilates/bodyweight type workouts a couple times a week lately.
  • yirara
    edited June 2020
    Hello DancingMoose (I so love that name!) I don't think I could do your video: the music would drive me insane :D Also the reason why i don't go to gyms. I don't want blinking screens and loud music around me. I'm doing this one here: https://www.reddit.com/r/bodyweightfitness/wiki/kb/recommended_routine