Transitioning to Running

Options
I was wondering if anyone had some advice about starting running! I am a martial artist and generally get my workouts in by punching, kicking, and moving around a ring.

However, I thought maybe I should start running to improve my fighting stamina! But I have asthma and a lot of times I try to start running too fast too quickly and I get blue lips and have to stop and take my inhaler. Any advice on how to ease into it?

Also is it true that your athletic performance really decreases after 25? I’m 25 next month... am I really already over the hill... already dreading the fact I am halfway to 30 lol.

Replies

• lilharumaki
    lilharumaki Posts: 112 Member
    Options
    Try couch 2 5k. It works. Slow down.

Thanks! Downloaded right now.
  • spiriteagle99
    spiriteagle99 Posts: 3,676 Member
    Options
    You may want to start with brisk walking, then do C25k. Keep your running portions slow and easy. If your asthma is a problem, talk to your doctor. I know several people with asthma who run marathons, but it takes some time to adjust.
  • moonangel12
    moonangel12 Posts: 971 Member
    Options
    Definitely start slow. Turtle slow. You want to be able to stay at a conversational pace, which can be hard if you’re just getting started (I used to struggle even in the early days/weeks of C25K and had to repeat a couple). I have heard some people say they can power walm faster than their slow jog.
  • GummiMundi
    GummiMundi Posts: 396 Member
    Options
    C25K is a great way to start running. Like the previous posters said, start slow.

As for your age... well, I started running two and a half months ago. I'm 48. ;) I'm not in it for the athletic performance, I'm in it for me.
  • moonangel12
    moonangel12 Posts: 971 Member
    Options