Reflux and eating well

hello, I am brand new to this. I have sever reflux which I take medication for but I have to be super careful what I eat anyway. I can't eat a lot of fresh veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, certain lettuces, tomatoes, cucumbers, super acidic things like oranges, lemons, limes) any tips on food and motivation!!

Replies

• HeidiCooksSupper
    HeidiCooksSupper Posts: 3,839 Member
    Both hubby and I have reflux and take drugs. Hubby has a hiatal hernia as well. I take omeprazole and he takes esomeprazole.

We do a couple of things to keep our GERD under control. We take drugs but we also have raised the heads of our beds. I have 4 inch blocks under the head end of mine. He has full-sized cinderblocks under the head end of his. (Now you see why we finally broke down and got twin beds.)

We also make sure not to eat too close to bed time. Fresh veggies aren't much of an issue if we allow time before bed. What is most likely to cause severe acid reflux is too much fat in the late evening. Having emergency Gaviscon in the medicine cabinet helps.

You may want to consider getting an appointment with an allergist and get tine tests for food sensivities. I have a bunch of them diagnosed and avoid those foods, especially in the evenings.

I have not had GERD problems since I started keeping my eating under control. Since I'm not snarfing a sleeve of crackers with butter or cheese at 11 pm or the like, there's no bedtime GERD. Once again, it may not be all veggies that are the problem but only some and when you eat any fatty foods.

Best wishes. And do raise the head of your bed! It's by far the cheapest solution and if its only 4" or so like mine, you won't even notice it after a few nights.
  • springlering62
    springlering62 Posts: 8,283 Member