How To Ween Myself off Soda

Options
Okay...I am addicted to diet soda...I have been for many years (my dad drove a Coke truck when I was a kid), and I know it will always been a struggle for me not to drink them. However, I read folks going on and on about how bad they are for you. My question is simple....in order to curb my cravings, am I better off drinking one regular Coke (with it's demonic HFCS) or one diet Coke (aspartame) a day? I'd really like to hear what you have to say.

I drank one regular Coke yesterday, and it literally was the only soda I had all day...which is a minor miracle in itself. I'm hoping to think out loud with the help of some MFP friends! :)

Replies

• amy29fan
    amy29fan Posts: 83 Member
    Options
    I need this as well.. I have been drinking diet coke for about 20 years. It was really back in my early 20's and my doctor diagnosed me being addicted to diet coke, which was causing my migraines. He put me on a medication that made me lose the taste for the diet coke. That worked for about 6 years. Then I got pregnant, and couldn't take the medicine and back to the diet coke I went. I used to drink 6-8 cans of it per day. I now only drink 1 large diet coke a day, along with 8 glasses of water. But how can get rid of it completely????
  • kristinaohno
    kristinaohno Posts: 113 Member
    Options
    I'd rather have the one regular soda, count it. Aspartame is so horrible for you. I stopped drinking soda about a month ago. I just started drinking seltzer. There's nothing in it but curbs my fizzy craving. It may not be soda, but it works. Now I drink more water than I ever have. I don't even crave soda anymore. And I was a big soda drinker. Good Luck!
  • c7eat2live
    c7eat2live Posts: 308 Member
    Options