When will I start noticing changes??

Options
I've been working out for 4 months and have lost 22 lbs so far! I have been working so hard. I get up an hour earlier at least 4 times a week to work out for an hour on the elliptical. I ride about 4 miles on my bike in the afternoons and have been slowly adding more strength training to my weekly routines. I took pictures on the day I started and when I compare them to how I look now I am not noticing any physical changes. I am keeping a calorie deficit nearly every day and even the days I go over (which are few and far in between) it is not by much. I have cut out sodas, cut back carbs and sugar.

On the positive side, I have been able to stop antidepressant and anxiety medication for 2 months now. I have more energy and I feel like I am sleeping better at night. I just can't wait to see the weight gone! I know eventually I'll be able to post some inspiring photos and I can't wait.

Replies

• Go_Deskercise
    Go_Deskercise Posts: 1,630 Member
    Options
    If you feel comfortable posting your before/current photos I'm sure we can point out where your improving.
    If you don't feel comfortable posting them, that's fine too!!
    Just remember we are always our harshest critics so it may be hard for you to see your own progress.

You're doing great!!
  • cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 34,019 Member
    Options
    Yeah, I think it's like SuzySunshine said above, depending on how much weight you have to lose it may not be too noticeable at 22 pounds lost.

Just keep doing the right things.

The other thing that is common is that we don't really see ourselves honestly. There's some sort of brain-perception-lag that happens to people when they lose weight. I lost 80 pounds over a decade ago and sometimes I still think of myself as a fat person - I'm at 21 BMI, I'm nowhere near fat. :)
  • briscogun
    briscogun Posts: 1,135 Member
    Options
    Congrats on the weight loss!