How to not hate your body when losing weight?

Options
I was able to restart my CrossFit gym membership two weeks ago, and I switched to an app that counts my macros (and noticed my fat intake has been almost double what it should have been, yikes.) But I'm at the heaviest I've ever weighed, and it's hard not to hate my body in the meantime.

Replies

• Speakeasy76
    Speakeasy76 Posts: 961 Member
    Options
    Focus on what your body can do and being grateful for it. It can be something as simple as allowing you stay healthy, get out of bed every morning and being able to go to CrossFit. Not everyone can do that.

Practicing gratitude in general is a great habit to get into (I'm still learning). I'm not saying that by practicing gratitude you completely ignore things you'd genuinely like to change, but I feel this actually motivates me more than shaming myself.
  • AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 32,154 Member
    Options
    Even when I was obese, I didn't hate my body: How much fun could I have without it? Zero. Even fat, it could do lots of entertaining things.

Seriously, it's fine to want to improve, and work on it. But it's your current body putting in the work. Can you appreciate it for that, maybe: Its gift to future you?
  • DancingMoosie
    DancingMoosie Posts: 8,613 Member
    Options
    It's going to be improving in so many ways through this journey. Can you not love the changes?
  • 190reasonswhy
    190reasonswhy Posts: 25 Member
    Options
    I try to think of this as a process. The in between phase from what I want to where I am. Bridges are function and usually not that great to look at.
  • chantellezxc
    chantellezxc Posts: 55 Member
    edited February 2021
    Options