I Overate For Two Days, Need Advice

Options
Hi all,
I'm a college student trying to maintain at 1800 calories per day. I'm a 5'2, 18 year old female weighing about 108 lbs, and I work out every day for around 30-40 minutes. This Saturday/Sunday my dad came up to visit me and we ate out for every single meal, and being the broke college student I am I allowed myself to indulge for every single one.

I'm feeling very full and very discouraged and emotional and I probably ate around 3500 calories or more both Saturday and Sunday. I feel like my physique is ruined and if I go back to eating 1800 I will just store any weight I may have gained from this weekend.

Does anyone have any advice as to what I should do to rebound as quickly as possible?

Thank you!

Replies

• goal06082021
    goal06082021 Posts: 2,130 Member
    Options
    Your physique is not ruined by one measly pound of fat (if you did eat an extra 3500 cal over maintenance). If you're really worried that much about, again, one pound, cut your calories to 1650 for a month and you'll be fine.
  • penguinmama87
    penguinmama87 Posts: 1,158 Member
    Options
    I think you might be surprised just how much better you feel after you go back to eating in your habitual way and get a good night's sleep. As much as I'd rather not admit it sometimes, overeating, especially really fatty or sugary foods, tends to make me feel sleepy and irritable, and depending on what else is going on even depressed. Once those foods have worked their way through my system, I often feel a lot better. I wouldn't be surprised if the same happens for you, and you realize the circumstances aren't quite so dire as they might seem this minute.
  • ninerbuff
    ninerbuff Posts: 48,547 Member
    Options
    Don't do it 3 days in row. Be consistent in your deficit and a day or two shouldn't derail you.

A.C.E. Certified Personal and Group Fitness Trainer
    IDEA Fitness member
    Kickboxing Certified Instructor