newly diagnosed and new to group

Options
Hello, I am new to group newly diagnosed type 2 my doctor has urged me to eat low carb under a 100 each day and watch my sugar intake due to hip/knee problems exercise is hard but i am working on it. biggest struggle is what to eat when your in a hurry to get out the door for work with small kids in tow.

Replies

• socajam
    socajam Posts: 2,530 Member
    Options
    My advice would be to open your diary so that members can see what you eat and give you substitutes, that you may not have thought about
    Yes, I know that a lot of people do not like doing this, but if you are really serious and want help, throw caution to the wind and get the help from the experience folks here
    My AC1 was 6.1, I am trying to get it down. Love bread, one substitute I did was to stop buying sliced bread and buy bread rolls instead. I find that having one bread roll a say satisfies my need and I don't have to give up eating bread
    I have brown basmati rice from Trade Joe's - 1/4 cup which also satisfies my need - I have stopped cutting food from my lifestyle, but eat in moderation
    The only things I do not eat - white flour, white rice. I have stopped eating legumes because I find that they give me serious indigestion and it's better to do without that having to take GasX
    Also I love cereal, use to eat it daily, now I make Sunday my cereal day and have a large bowl of cereal with either carrot juice or milk - that's my cereal fix for the week and I find that it really satisfies my graving and cut back on having all those carbs daily
    My diary is open for you to view if you so desire - I have missed some days, you might need to click back a couple of days
  • Twiley510
    Twiley510 Posts: 377 Member
    Options
    I have a couple of suggestions: