running advice

Options
I've been attempting to fit jogging into my exercise regimen.... I can't seem to get past 20 min! I usually go between 4.5 - 5 mph. How do I break this running "plateau" I really want to be able to adopt this form of exercise, and reap its benefits. I do this walk/run at least 4 - 5 times a week.

Thank you!!!!

Replies

• mrsmac69
    Options
    You might want to slow down your pace if you want to run for a longer amount of time/distance. Most runners do a long slow run at least once a week.

Check out Hal Higdon's training plans. They add time/distance gradually.
  • cmstuckart
    cmstuckart Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    Run with a friend. The time flys by!
  • laz22girl
    Options
    Are your outside or inside?

What is keeping you from going beyond 20 mins? Physical pain or mental pain?

Are you doing any progressive plan like c25k or just winging it?

--
    I've been running for about 4-5 yrs and it's still a mental struggle. I just started running outside after running on the TM all summer and I am having a lot of MENTAL pain, not physical pain while i rebuild my outside endurance.

Running is 90% mental, IMO. Maybe when you start nearing your threshold of 20 mins, you can reduce your speed a notch or two and aim for 22 mins, then 25 mins, etc.
  • kathiehughes
    kathiehughes Posts: 198 Member
    Options
    Try pushing yourself just 1 more extra minute each time you run, you can do anything for 1 minute. Then in no time you will be running for 25 mins and then 30 and so on.
  • aunt_hbomb
    Options
    I have never been a runner until I started C25K. I had to restart it 3 times this summer, but I finally made it to week 4. Loving it.
  • drdenise
    drdenise Posts: 87 Member
    Options