Myfitnesspal

Message Boards General Health, Fitness and Diet
You are currently viewing the message boards in:

Diabetes Type 2

mariakershaw123mariakershaw123 Member, Premium Posts: 12 Member Member, Premium Posts: 12 Member
Having just been diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, I thought I’d post a topic re all things diabetes type 2. I am completely new to this and looking for as much support as possible

Replies

• spiriteagle99spiriteagle99 Member Posts: 3,153 Member Member Posts: 3,153 Member
    When my husband was diagnosed with T2D, he took a class on Type 2 that included a nutritionist who explained how his diet should change. It is a good idea if you can get access to one.
  • Kupla71Kupla71 Member Posts: 251 Member Member Posts: 251 Member
    I don’t have diabetes but I was recently diagnosed with pre diabetes. My dietician recommended a low carb diet. Not as low as keto but between 99 and 120 grams of carbs a day. I think the main priority right now for me is to lose weight as that is putting me at risk. Do you have a dietician? I’ve just been learning about all of this over the past week so really can’t offer much help. Just here to support you and wish you well! 😊
  • FishysAvengerFishysAvenger Member Posts: 2 Member Member Posts: 2 Member
    Hello, I am pre diabetic for the last few years. I am coming back here to have better health and the first step was to lose some weight. I can't really offer any advice as I am also looking for some answers too, but would be more than willing to give some support. I can tell you that I have been doing this for about 20 days now and lost almost 10 lbs. I had a friend of mine check my blood sugar and the number had dropped to 96. I have given up my soda which I think made a major difference.
  • Megan_smartiepants1970Megan_smartiepants1970 Member, Premium Posts: 22,266 Member Member, Premium Posts: 22,266 Member