Competitive Fitness App

Options
Hello all!
I am a current ux/ui design student working on a competitive based fitness app. You will be able to track workouts/ follow friends/ start challenges with friends & community.

I am seeking input from potential users and would love for you to be apart of making this app fun & easy!
Please comment or message me to be apart of this project!
Cheers :)

Replies

• springlering62
    springlering62 Posts: 7,478 Member
    Options
    No offense, but there’s so many apps that already do this, and do it well.

I use Apple Watch, and can join public challenges if I wish. I can also engage in private one-on-one challenges with friends via Apple Watch.

MFP “Friends” can send me automatic updates of their workouts on my feed, if they choose to. I’ve turned mine off because I work out several times a day, and auto reporting can overwhelm the feed.

Having said that, I can tell you what I dislike about Apple’s system, if it would help you.

1.) Apple has personal challenges that increase incrementally. Each month they push you to increase steps or number of workouts, calories burned, or minutes of workout. If you already exercise regularly, the increases can be insane, and unobtainable. You “earn” a digital medal for completing these challenges. For example I got a message this morning that I need to complete 1490 remaining minutes of exercise for June to earn this months medal. That’s 99 minutes a day, which I will beat easily (only because it’s less than normal, since I was sick last month, which brought my average down) but there’s been months where it’s demanded upwards of a couple hundred minutes a month. That’s nuts. During COVID lockdown I was walking extensively on an infrequently used trail- upwards of 10-12 miles a day. At one point Apples algorithm was trying to increase me to 14-15 miles a day.