Must a trainer be able to do the movements?

I’ve been thinking about becoming a trainer. Late in life for me- 60 years old.

Several reasons:
- I want to learn more about fitness and a certification program seems like it would be enjoyable and enriching
- I’ve been working out for about 3 1/2 years and I believe it changed my mindset from mostly negative to mostly positive. I want to share this - I’ve talked some folks into gym memberships and they are using it and super happy I did.
- I think a lot of folks my age or overweight/obese are intimidated by some of the young buff folks who train even if they are great trainers and super patient and nice. They might not be as intimidated by me.
- I think a lot of trainers out there are more interested in training folks who are already “fit.” I’m more interested in helping unfit people get to a better (not great) fitness. Then they would move on if they wanted to continue improving.

But- big BUT- I’m in decent shape but not super fit or anything. The trainers in my gym can all demonstrate advanced movements from a stone cold start. E.g they can be hanging out and do a muscle up to demonstrate. I can’t do this. Some of the movements we do I can’t do at all or do very poorly- the example of a muscle up - I can’t even get my chest to the bar. I usually know how but just can’t execute. My current gym is NCFit partner- like CrossFit but not but I likely wouldn’t train others there.

Should I do this? It will cost $ and $ is a little tight for me now.

Replies

• goal06082021
    goal06082021 Posts: 2,130 Member
    I'd be wary of a trainer who couldn't or wouldn't demonstrate what they wanted me to do - it can be hard to translate verbal descriptions into bodily movements. (I wouldn't hire a trainer in the first place, paying someone else to pay attention to my body while I'm working out sounds like a bespoke nightmare, but in the universe wherein I would hire one, I'd expect them to be able to do the moves.)
  • Chieflrg