Questions: Beginning Hunger Issues & Nutrition

Options
KiyaK
KiyaK Posts: 519 Member
I'm new to this whole calorie counting thing. I just started on Tuesday (it's now Friday). For the first week, is it normal to feel REALLY hungry before each meal/snack? The first day I joined the site, I just recorded what I ate that day (pretty typical for me) & I was over by about 700 calories, but I also didn't work out that day. Could eliminating those 700 calories make THAT much of a difference in my hunger?

For the first two days, I did not realize I should be eating my exercise calories, so it makes sense why I would have been hungry those days. But yesterday I ate those caloies and still feel hungry today!

Also, how do you manage calories when you are not the cook? This weekend I'm eating dinner at my parents' house and spending a day at the state fair. I still don't know approximate calorie values or portions sizes of foods off the top of my head, and I'm afraid of completely over-shooting my calorie limit for the weekend... Help!

Replies

• ambercanfly
    ambercanfly Posts: 150 Member
    Options
    Make your food diary visible so we can see what you're eating and give suggestions.
  • Whitneylol
    Options
    In general, when you begin to eat less you will feel hungrier than younormally do. This could be a myth, but I believe your stomach literally shrinks and starts to hold less food as you eat less. This is why some people can eat sooo much more than others! I notice I get fuller with less food after I stick to eating less for a while.

With recording calories when you're not the cook- use your palm as a "cup" with guessing how much youre eating. Just estimate and search on MFP for what you're eating- it's probably on there! Even if you aren't eating exactly what you found on MFP, an estimate is better than not knowing at all, at least for me!

Good luck, you can do it!!
  • jlowensby
    Options