Mom of 5 needing some ideas on how to exercise.

Options
I am new at this and need some ideas on what kind of exercises that I can do at home. I am a stay home mom and have an 8 month old and a 4 year old at home with me all the time. Any ideas? I will try anything!
Thanks for your help!

Replies

• MB_Positif
    MB_Positif Posts: 8,897 Member
    Options
    Wow, well, maybe when the baby is napping you can do an exercise DVD with your 4 year old. My son is 5 and I can usually keep him engaged long enough for a 40 minute DVD by first asking him to join me, which he does for about 5 mintues and then he spends the rest of the time playing nearby or correcting me on my form! Good luck!
  • CarolynB38
    CarolynB38 Posts: 553 Member
    Options
    Does your 4yr old like to ride a bike or scooter or something? Mine rides hers to school and I walk briskly behind. She waits for me every so often so she is never out of sight. You could put the baby in the buggy and that extra resistance of pushing it should add to the calories burned a little bit. I should imagine with 5 kids you are too tired to exercise once they are in bed but if you could manage something short I would recommend Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred. It takes less than 30 mins and you don't need much space and it really works you hard so it is an efficient use of exercise time.

Do you have a Wii? If so Just Dance is great fun and your 4 year old will enjoy it too. Perhaps you could try it while the baby is asleep and with any luck your 4 yr old will be so tired she'll have a nap too :laugh:
  • Visser1971
    Options
    Hi there,

I dance with my 3 year old while the 3 month old watches. We really boogie. I have on rare occassion managed to get them both sleeping at the same time, but I never count on that - so walking and running with the 4 year old, pushing the pram / stroller with the younger one will be fun for all.

Oh, and my 3 year old likes to do Yoga moves and jumping jacks.