Slow Runner, Getting back at it Again.

fatty2begone
fatty2begone Posts: 249 Member
edited February 2022 in Motivation and Support
I am a slow runner. I have always been a slow runner. And I finally can accept I am and can be a slow runner.

About 10 years ago, I was a consistent new runner. I ran for 2 years straight. I ran 6 to 7 miles comfortably. I started at 13.5 minute mile got down to on a good day around 11.5 minute mile. I typically averaged around 12 minute mile.

I started training for a half marathon, which I completed, and with the longer runs was back in the high 12 MM to 13+MM.
I think it was 2 weeks before my marathon, my sis-inlaw and bro-inlaw asked if I would do a charity walk with them. The walk was 10 miles. I thought this would be a good cut back for run before the half and I joined them. My bro-inlaw is a fast walker. I kept up with him, but when I got home and charted my walk time, I walked for 10 miles with the range of 12 to 12.5 mm.
I was so defeated. I couldn't wrap my head around how can I walk faster then I run.

I completed the half marathon with a lot of walking, I think I finished in the 14+ mile minute range. I was so defeated. My training half run before the above mentioned charity walk, was challenging but doable. I sabotaged my half with my head. After the half I quit running totally.

In the time since my half marathon, I have maybe tried running a total of 10 times in the past 10 yrs. Just could not get out of my head... Slow runner. Side not I gained 60 to 70 pounds in the 10 year period.

Skip ahead to the present. I recently joined MFP. I am counting calories and getting fit again. I recently started the C25K program, as I want to run! Slow as I may be, I want to run. I enjoy running. I do not need to run faster then I am able. I maybe a slow runner, having walkers faster then I. My head is not going to derail me from the achievement of running.