Newbie here!!!!

Options
Shayy001
Shayy001 Posts: 1 Member
edited April 2022 in Introduce Yourself
Hi everyone!

So, after weighing myself on the scale today, I decided to take some steps to lose weight and get in shape. I recently transitioned to a vegan diet, but find I am still gaining weight. After tracking one of my meals today, I can see why. My food choices and portions aren’t the best. So I’m looking to start exercising and eating better. I’m hoping this app is a good place to start on my healthy journey! I am new to working out and so I don’t even know how to start. If you have any tips that would be helpful please share! Thanks.

Replies

• MySeniorFitness
    MySeniorFitness Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    Track everything. Make long term and short term goals. Be specific. Stick to a diet. I like a modified south beach. Come up with a workout plan based on your comfort level. But first get a physical. Be sure what you do meets your physical condition. I prefer a DO. Personally (I am not a doctor or nutritionist) I am looking to correct any issues through diet, exercise and sleep. I have dropped over 30 lb since January 1. Only 60 more to go.
  • AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 32,679 Member
    Options
    As you've discovered, veganism isn't a guarantee of weight loss. (I say that as someone who's been vegetarian for 47+ years, thin to fat to obese and back to thin again.)

The only guarantee of weight loss is eating fewer calories than we burn, over time. It's not even essential to count the calories, though that can be a helpful tool for some. (It was for me, for sure.)

IMO, there's no one universal perfect eating style or eating timing. If a particular routine helps a person stay full, happy, energetic and healthy alongside managing their weight, that's a good way of eating for that person . . . whatever that eating pattern is.