Going over daily calorie count

Options
Hi my name is Lisa I am new to fitness pal today I went over my daily calories and now I feel bad I will get back on track tomorrow yet I feel like I am delaying my goal

Replies

• Anniesquats100
    Anniesquats100 Posts: 3,046 Member
    Options
    Lisa it takes a bit to get used to counting calories at every meal, and using those numbers to eat according to plan. Give yourself some time to get the hang of it. You will be on track soon!

Annie
  • JaysFan82
    JaysFan82 Posts: 851 Member
    Options
    Plan out your meals the night before on the app. I know exactly how many calories all my meals will be the following day. I work a lot better with structure.
  • IAmTheGlue
    IAmTheGlue Posts: 701 Member
    Options
    Lisa, it’s okay. I “like” every single post on my newsfeed where someone completes their diary whether they were under their goal or not. Why? Literally just being accountable, just writing it down is a step in the right direction.

Your progress comes from a whole bunch of small choices that build up over time. One off day, one big meal, one day laying around in your PJs eating comfort food because you feel crappy won’t derail all the progress you are making by all the days you get it right.

Just keep going. Don’t give up.
  • avatiach
    avatiach Posts: 291 Member
    Options
    If you go over your goal a little bit on any given day, it won't make much difference (especially if it is just a little bit). If you are trying to lose at the pace of a pound a week, MFP sets your allowance at -500/day. If you go over by 200 calories, you're still at -300/day and you will still be losing...just at a slower rate.
  • nutmegoreo
    nutmegoreo Posts: 15,532 Member
    Options