I feel defeated

edinat
edinat Posts: 159 Member
I feel so defeated on 7/1 i was 224.5 on 7/5 im 229. I feel like all my work this month went down the drain. If i stop it will get worse, and i cant handle this yoyo progress anymore. 😭

Replies

• cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 34,314 Member
    edited July 2022
    It's okay, weight fluctuations are all part of the game. If you haven't over-eaten 17,500 calories (3500 calories is roughly equivalent to one pound in weight,) then it's just a little fluctuation, keep doing the right things and it will go the other way.

https://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10683010/the-weird-and-highly-annoying-world-of-scale-fluctuations/p1
  • Lietchi
    Lietchi Posts: 6,703 Member
    I gained 3.5 lbs over the past 6 six days. But I'm not feeling defeated, I've been logging my daily weigh-ins for nearly three years and I know this is part of 'the game' of weight management. I know how much I've been eating, so this is just a blip (water retention from salt and stress, most likely) and I just need to be consistent.
    Don't let the scale define your worth! Focus on your actions, not that silly number on the scale that is just a snapshot :smile:
  • bojaantje3822
    bojaantje3822 Posts: 257 Member
    Listen to the commenters. Weight fluctuation is normal. If you're reallly bothered, you can get one of those apps that give you your weight trends.
    My weight can fluctuate by as much as 15lbs if I exercised, got my period and ate something salty. Doesn't mean I gained a bunch of fat.
  • nsk1951
    nsk1951 Posts: 1,304 Member
    I recognize and understand that weight fluctuations happen daily and are a normal process of how our body is handling 'things', including the food and liquids we consumed ... and have been using the 5-pound marker to set as mini goals along the way of weight loss as I move from the high 200's to closer and closer to the 100's on the scale.