Discouraged- Advice Please

Options
I've been using MFP off and on for several months. It seems as soon as I get the momentum going, something comes up to interfere and everything falls apart.

Last evening, my husband confessed that he doesn't like the healthy meals I'm making. He said the meals don't fill him up and would like me to make something with more flavor. I think the food isn't too bad (I've been cooking mostly from WW cookbooks and HG cookbooks). He doesn't cook, and I really don't want to prepare 2 separate meals each night. I was hoping that the healthy meals would encourage both of us to eat better; but in reality he doesn't need to lose weight and it is difficult for him to see things from my perspective.

Does anyone else have this same situation? Where one person wants to eat healthy and the other doesn't? How have you handled without caving and scrapping the healthy eating objective all together?

Replies

• sc1572
    sc1572 Posts: 2,309 Member
    Options
    try skinnytaste.com and recipes from whole foods online :)
  • bstevens1021
    Options
    While I understand and sympathize that the meals aren't as much to his liking, he needs to understand that your health is more important. "He doesn't cook"-well, if he wants something else, he better learn!

You shouldn't start making crap foods that he likes and make your health and weight loss goals suffer. Try adding some more flavoring, spices, etc. to the foods you're making, and if he still doesn't like it-see above comment about learning to cook. :P
  • infamousmk
    infamousmk Posts: 6,033 Member
    Options
    Is it possible that he can make his own meals? Or do some of the cooking? It seems awfully unsupportive of him to just decide he doesn't like the way you're cooking without offering any kind of constructive help. Health should come first, but really, if you're following WW and skinnytaste.com recipes, you're getting some pretty good flavour too.
  • Esliva
    Options