Allergic to Healthy Foods

Options
IronMike0213
IronMike0213 Posts: 8 Member
Hi I'm Mike. At the time of this post I am 35 and overweight. I'm an Army Vet (non-combat) and started gaining after sustaining injuries during service. I'm trying to take charge of my health and eat foods that are going to be beneficial to me overall. In short, I want to be around for my family.

There are some physical limitations, but my major limitations are dietary (hence my title). I'm allergic to raw fruits and veggies. I'm also allergic to tree nuts. Most recipes include something I can't have! In the short term I'm making changes to my diet by being meticulous about the foods I buy and aiming for products that are healthier. In the long term I would like to have a large option of recipes I can make (instead of buy) so I can save money and meal prep better.

I'm be more specific:

I can't eat any vegetable raw except romaine and iceberg lettuce. Anything else needs to be cooked or processed in some way. Frozen doesn't work because it's usually flash frozen and by the time it thaws it still gives me a reaction.

I can't eat most fruits. I do OK with grapes and citrus fruits (in small amounts), but if I eat too much I have a reaction (I can eat all the lemons I want, but you know... who cares). Same thing, it needs to be processed in some way because frozen can be hit or miss.

I've been told it's due to pesticides and I've been told it's a protein the the skin that I'm allergic to. Either way, it sucks!

Absolutely no tree nuts! I grew the allergy to fruits and veggies, but I've had the but allergy since birth. Peanuts are fine since they're legumes, but even those can't be raw.

My reaction will range from slight tingling in the mouth, to swelling of lips, to vomiting, to strong chest pains and shortness of breath so I can't afford to mess this up.

I'm willing to do the work, but I need your help to find food ideas that can work around my allergies. Thanks for your help!

Replies