Working Out While Sick??

Options
Okay, I am new to this whole work-out-eat-right-every-day thing so I need some advice. I recently came down with a really annoying head cold and cannot work out at my normal level. I still want to do something every day, so what do you guys do when you are sick but still want to do something active/calorie burning??

Replies

• theradiantbride
    Options
    Usually if I have a cold or something, I'll just go for a short walk.
  • ProTFitness
    ProTFitness Posts: 1,379 Member
    Options
    Okay, I am new to this whole work-out-eat-right-every-day thing so I need some advice. I recently came down with a really annoying head cold and cannot work out at my normal level. I still want to do something every day, so what do you guys do when you are sick but still want to do something active/calorie burning??

HEad colds you can still work out. DO what you can but if it goes to the chest then they say you should back off untill you feel better. Do what you can working out even at a lower level may help kick out the cold
  • Krys_T
    Krys_T Posts: 1,406 Member
    Options
    I refuse refuse refuse to workout while I am sick. In the 2 or 3 times I have done it while having a cold...it only made me feel worse! Your body needs rest when you are sick, and it needs that rest or you will be sick longer. Drink your fluids, eat right and you will be fine. Once you are 100% then resume the working out :)
  • alecta337
    alecta337 Posts: 622 Member
    Options
    you are using your body's energy to work out instead of make itself healthy again. I suggest against it, unless its just a walk
  • jbug100
    jbug100 Posts: 406 Member
    Options
    Same thing with me the other day. I ended up staying at home and doing a yoga session from fitness TV. I usually rather go to gym, but fitness TV is a great option if you're just not up to a vigorous workout. I have Comcast. You can find fitness programs "on demand".
  • cheri0627