Need more food ideas

Options
I’ve been using MFP for about two months now and I’ve been really struggling to consistently eat enough because I don’t have a lot of time to prepare food and I also have a couple food allergies so it cuts down on the foods that I can eat which gives me less options. I need more protein in my diet, I’m 5’6.5 and weigh 104lbs, I want to gain weight and muscle but I only get around 80-90g of protein everyday so that makes it hard. So I was wondering if anyone has any tips or simple-ish high calorie/high protein recipes. If they’re easy on your stomach too or that would be great.
Thanks

Replies

• penguinmama87
    penguinmama87 Posts: 1,158 Member
    Options
    It's going to matter a lot what your allergies are, and you don't disclose that.

If you're just preparing for yourself, have you looked into meal prepping? I use some similar strategies for family cooking - I have some flexibility and cook most things from scratch, but I am not preparing every meal from scratch every time we eat it. I am reusing components, taking one dish out of the freezer, reusing a refrigerator salad several days in a row, etc.

For easy snacks, depending on allergies, dried fruits and nuts are high calorie and nutritious. Cottage cheese is very high in protein - you can eat it by itself or in recipes (sometimes processing it is worth it to smooth out the texture). If you currently eat low-fat dairy, switch to full-fat or whole milk products.

If you eat meat, you could just eat more of it, or increase how much you use in a recipe in relation to other ingredients. Hardboiled eggs are also a quick make-ahead snack.

Many fruits and vegetables need minimal prep, just a quick rinse (or you can buy prewashed and prepped). Either could be served with a yummy dip made ahead to your preferences.

I know several of the things I mention are common allergens, so if they don't work for you please disregard.
  • cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 33,971 Member