Apple watch data vs building a work out routine on MFP

Options
I am relatively new to MFP for tracking workouts as I previously just used it for calorie counting. I have synced my Apple Watch to my MFP account for my workouts. As I understand it, Apple doesn't play well with MFP and MFP will only track Cardio automatically. On average each day, my basic daily work out takes about 45 minutes to an hour to complete and burns about 247 calories. I have been manually adding that information once my workout is complete to the exercise section on MFP. I discovered the workout routine options today as I was playing around on the app. I entered the bulk of my daily workout (some were not listed in the available exercises) to see what MFP said about it. Shockingly, my workout routine that was missing about 6 exercises burns an estimated 514 calories. That's more than double what Apple has been tracking. Am I better off to just use my workout routine daily and forego the Apple information? I am just curious to the accuracy of the workout exercises because it estimates that is should take about an hour and 19 minutes to complete. Obviously neither are perfect, but I would like to use whatever way is best. Thanks in advance for the information and help!
Tagged:

Replies

• cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 33,961 Member
    Options
    Here's the thing.

Devices like Apple Watch, fitbit, heart rate monitors, and myfitnesspal all use varying algorithms to ESTIMATE what XXXX exercise calories would be.

None of them are perfect and/or correct necessarily.

Pick one of those numbers, 247 or 514, or something in between and use it for two months and see how your weight management plays out. That's the only way. Here is the explanation of myfitnesspal's calculations:
    https://support.myfitnesspal.com/hc/en-us/articles/360032625391-How-does-MyFitnessPal-calculate-my-initial-goals-

...and this is a good read: