Lunch on the Go

Options
kayfhoward1
kayfhoward1 Posts: 63 Member
Hi all! I’m a delivery driver in east Texas. I typically don’t stop to eat lunch as it makes my day longer. I generally eat between stops. I’m looking for healthier options. TIA

Replies

• cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 34,129 Member
    Options
    Why can't you bring your own lunch in a small cooler?
  • cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 34,129 Member
    Options
    ...and...healthier options than...what? There are lower calorie and/or more vegetables fast food choices, and nearly every grocery store in my area has a deli and grab and go salads, sandwiches to order, etc.
  • Healthcoachsteve_
    Healthcoachsteve_ Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    Hey @kayfhoward1 It's awesome that you are looking to make some better choices for lunch! It can definitely get difficult when you are on the road all day. Besides packing yourself some things in a cooler, and since you are on the road a bunch Buc-ee's could be a great option. They have a really great "fresher" food section with salads, wraps & fruit. I always stop there when i'm driving from Houston to Austin.
  • AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 32,888 Member
    Options
    Yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and fruit (among other things) are usually available at gas-station mini-markets. If you watch out for ones heavy on sugar and light on protein, there are yogurt/kefir or protein drinks, even. Also, take a look at protein bars.

I like the "small cooler" idea (with the reusable ice block). A small insulated bowl-type container lets you bring hot leftovers or soup, or cold foods, from home.

There are some dehydrated soup cup/oatmeal cups that are nutritious and reasonably filling, and all you need is hot water. Usually the quick stops would have hot water, or there actually exist travel pots that plug into a vehicle's power plug.