Starting Keto

Options
Hi there!
I’m new to keto and have a lot of questions. Like, what is the max calories I should eat per day, the amount of sugar allowed, is there groceries on iHerb that recommended?
Need some help and good advice:-)

Replies

• neanderthin
    neanderthin Posts: 9,925 Member
    Options
    I suggest you do some reconnaissance and understand what a ketogenic diet actually is before you venture into those waters. The most successful people, almost to a fault are the people where through trial and error eventually found this dietary strategy to help with their health complications where other diets failed. Otherwise it's a very strict elimination diet that forgoes all the yummy carby and sugary foods that most people love and for the most part aren't willing to give up which eventually leads to failure and like most failures they blame it on the diet, don't be that person. Alternatively you could just consume more whole food like a Mediterranean diet, but again compared to a SAD diet it's still an elimination diet, just not as drastic. Of course there's always counting calories. good luck with your journey
  • tomcustombuilder
    tomcustombuilder Posts: 1,640 Member
    Options
    kfjk2ncdzm wrote: »
    Hi there!
    I’m new to keto and have a lot of questions. Like, what is the max calories I should eat per day, the amount of sugar allowed, is there groceries on iHerb that recommended?
    I don’t think you should be doing a KETO diet,
    You need a better understanding of it before proceeding.

• hikerdan
    hikerdan Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    If you can, read the “Keto for Dummies “ book. It answered lots of my questions and did a great job of explaining the key concepts.

Most people need 2,000 calories a day to maintain weight. Eating 1,500/day is supposed to put you on course to lose a pound a week, since 3,500 calories = 1 pound Good luck. Good nutrition.
  • AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 32,195 Member
    Options